Organization of PABITRA

PABITRA is a network of conservation scientists involved in the Pacific basin and its island regions.  The network evolved from the Pacific Science Association (PSA) Committee on Ecology, Conservation, and Environmental Protection (ECEP), chaired by Dieter Mueller-Dombois since 1975 (the 13th PSA Congress in Vancouver).  In August 1999 (the 19th PSA Congress in Sydney), the ECEP became the Division for Ecosystem Conservation in the PSA Task Force on Biodiversity, and the PABITRA initiative its new program.  Currently, there are about 70 conservation professionals on the mailing list, but about 30 individuals working in different island areas and partnership institutions form the PABITRA Core Group.

PABITRA is connected to DIVERSITAS, the global program of biodiversity science, coordinated by IUBS (International Union of Biological Sciences) and UNESCO in Paris via DIWPA, DIVERSITAS in Western Pacific and Asia, coordinated by the Center for Ecological Research at Kyoto University.

The PABITRA office is connected to the University of Hawai`i Botany Department (www.botany.hawaii.edu/pabitra/).  The Principal Coordinator is Dieter Mueller-Dombois and Annette Mueller-Dombois is the Executive Assistant (amdhawaii@aol.com).

Co-Principal Coordinators are:

Dr. Kim W. Bridges kim@hawaii.edu  (Honolulu, Hawai`i)
Dr. Curtis C. Daehler daehler@hawaii.edu  (Honolulu, Hawai`i)
Prof. James O. Juvik jjuvik@hawaii.edu  (Hilo, Hawai`i)
Dr. Lloyd Loope lloyd_loope@usgs.gov  (Makawao, Maui, Hawai`i)
Prof. Harley I. Manner hmanner@uog9.uog.edu  (Guam)
Dr. Will McClatchey mcclatch@hawaii.edu  (Honolulu, Hawai`i)
Dr. Jean-Yves Meyer yves.meyer@recherche.gov.pf  (Tahiti)
Dr. Nacanieli (Nat) S. Tuivavalagi filia@samoa.ws (Samoa)
Dr. Wayne Takeuchi vdt@global.net.pg  (Papua New Guinea)
Prof. Randy R. Thaman thaman_r@usp.ac.fj  (Fiji)
Mr. Marika Tuiwawa tuiwawa_m@usp.ac.fj  (Fiji)

Other PABITRA core members are:

Dr. Allen Allison allison@hawaii.edu (Hawai`i)
Mr. James Atherton jatherton@apiaman.com (Samoa)
Dr. Charles Birkeland charlesb@hawaii.edu (Hawai`i)
Dr. H. Jürgen Böhmer juergen@dec.loek.agrar.tu-muenchen.de  (Germany)
Prof. Chang-Hung Chou chou@gate.sinica.edu.tw  (Taiwan)
Dr. Neil Davies ndavies@nature.berkeley.edu (Moorea)
Dr. Donald R. Drake dondrake@hawaii.edu (Honolulu)
Dr. Kathy Ewel Kewel@psw_ipif.fs.fed.us  (Honolulu)
Dr. Marjorie V. C. Falanruw mfalanruw@mail.fm  (Yap, FSM)
Prof. Michael Fitzsimons fitzsimons@lsu.edu (Louisiana)
Dr. Rosemary Gillespie gillespie@nature.berkeley.edu  (Berkeley, CA)
Dr. Sam Gon III sgon@tnc.org  (Honolulu)
Mr. Noah Idechong psc@palaunet.com  (Belau)
Prof. em. Syuzo Itow syuito@net.nagasaki_u.ac.jp  (Nagasaki)
Dr. James D. Jacobi Jim_Jacobi@usgs.gov  (Volcano, Hawai`i)
Dr. Kuswata Kartawinata kkartawinata@cifor.exch.cgiar.org  (Indonesia)
Mr. Gunnar Keppel keppel_g@usp.ac.fj (Fiji)
Dr. Michael Kiehn Michael.Kiehn@univie.ac.at  (Austria)
Mr. Karol Kisokau vdt@global.net.pg  (Papua New Guinea)
Dr. Kanehiro Kitayama kitayama@ecology.kyoto-u.ac.jp  (Kyoto, Japan)
Mr. Matheus S. E. Kilmaskossu matheus@hawaii.edu  (Irian Jaya)
Dr. Roger Kitching r.kitching@plato.ens.gu.edu.au  (Australia)
Prof. Dr. Christoph Leuschner cleusch@gwdg.de  (Germany)
Prof. Mark D. Merlin merlin@hawaii.edu  (Honolulu)
Mr. Alifereti Naikatini naikatini_a@usp.ac.fj (Fiji)
Dr. Perry Ong perryong@csi.com.ph  (Philippines)
Prof. Norma Orlido-Aguilar noa@mudspring.uplb.edu.ph  (Philippines)
Prof. Dr. Richard Pott Pott@mbox.geobotanik.uni-hannover.de  (Germany)
Mr. Bill Raynor braynor@tnc.org  (Pohnpei, FSM)
Prof. Yoshikazu Shimizu ys@komazawa-u.ac.jp  (Japan)
Dr. Jatna Supriatna ci-indonesia@conservation.org  (Indonesia)
   Jatna@cbn.net.id
Ms. Ana Tiraa tiraa@loxinfo.co.th (Cook Islands)
Dr. Edward L. Webb ewebb@ait.ac.th (Samoa)
Dr. W. Arthur Whistler whistler@hawaii.edu  (Honolulu)

 

PABITRA/PSA liaison officers are:

Dr. Allen Allison allison@bishop.bishop.hawaii.org
Dr. Lu. G. Eldredge psa@bishop.bishop.hawaii.org
 

PABITRA/DIWPA liaison officers are:

Dr. Tohru Nakashizuka toron@ecology.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Dr. Takakazu Yumoto yumoto@ecology.kyoto-u.ac.jp
 

PABITRA/Roundtable Action Strategy liaison persons are:

Mr. Gaikovina R. Kula ci-png@conservation.org
Dr. Betsy McGean bmcgean@tnc.org
Ms. Audrey Newman anewman@tnc.org
Dr. Iosafetu Reti sprep@sprep.org.ws
   jreti@sprep.org.ws
Mr. Sam Sesega sams@sprep.org.ws
Dr. Trevor Ward tward@geog.uwa.edu.au